Sound-Tracking Melbourne Symposium 12 – 13 June 2018

While it is recognised that screen media form the connective tissue of Melbourne’s artistic and cultural life, Sound-Tracking Melbourne will explore the importance of sound to the way the moving image is brought to life.

Dates: 12-13 June 2018 Time: 6.00-8.30 pm 12 June, 9.00 am-6.30 pm 13 June
Location: RMIT University, Swanston Academic Building – Bldg 80, 445 Swanston St, Melbourne

To register for Sound-Tracking Melbourne, visit:

Sound-Tracking Melbourne not only intends to give due critical and creative weight to the interlocking dimensions of sound design found in Melbourne screen culture, but to address the lack of sustained scholarship on the ways in which the city and its environs are imagined and brought to life on screen through particular ‘tracking’ soundscapes, from music videos to audiovisual art installations, and from film and TV to games and documentary.

Following the successful Screening Melbourne Symposium in 2017, Sound-Tracking Melbourne is both a recognition of the importance of sound to moving image culture and an intervention – asking delegates to hear and see sound in newly important ways.

Highlights include:

  • Keynote presentation by Emily Siddons (Museums Victoria) – “The Sound of Space”
  • Opening night Special Screening of Boys in the Trees (2016) without dialogue.  Nominated for a 2016 AACTA Award for Best Original Music Score, this special screening (courtesy of Mushroom Pictures) will be followed by a conversation with director Nick Verso and composer Darrin Verhagen about the film’s score and soundtrack.

In addition to conference attendance, registration is inclusive of the opening night public screening on 12 June and the closing reception on the evening of 13 June.


Registration GST Inclusive:
$50.00 Non-presenters, fully waged
$40.00 Non-presenters, students and non-waged
$40.00 Presenting delegates, fully waged
$30.00 Presenting delegates, students and non-waged

To register for Sound-Tracking Melbourne, visit:

On behalf of the Organising Committee and the Melbourne Screen Studies Group

Jessica Balanzategui
David Chesworth
Toija Cinque
Adrian Danks
Glen Donnar
Claire Perkins
Sean Redmond